How to Cloak Links for Dropbox

Oct 5, 2020 1 min read
How to Cloak Links for Dropbox

Short.io provides link cloaking for replacing a long URL with the short one in the browser address bar. For example, the link like "https://www.dropbox.com/s/video fhsbfwieufvewuifhwevfiuenchfwpoeifyvry.mp3" is replaced with "https://yourdomain.com/video." The feature's purpose is to hide possibly important parts of links like UTM parameters, affiliate code.

The most frequently cloaked websites among Short.io users are:

  1. Typeform.
  2. Cognitoforms.
  3. Formsite.
  4. Google Services.
  5. Zoom.
  6. Amazon S3.
  7. Youtube.
  8. Dropbox.

If you are trying to cloak links with these services, the error "Cloaking is forbidden by destination URL with X-Frame-Options header" may occur. The main reason for its inception was to provide clickjacking protection. This includes a page rendering in a frame, iframe, or object. Iframes are used to embed and isolate third-party content into a website.

Dropbox forbids link cloaking. Sometimes you inevitably need to hide Dropbox links because of the important information behind it. On Short.io, you can cloak dropbox links that redirect to a single file, like an image, audio. There is no possibility to cloak URLs that lead to a folder with files. For cloaking Dropbox links:

1. Go to your Dropbox file.

2. Create a share link to the file.

3. Change the www in the link to dl.

Example:

You have a link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/video.mp3 ?dl=0
Change it to: https://dl.dropbox.com/s/video.mp3

4. Shorten a link > Cloak it.

This way, the link will be shortened, and you will successfully hide important values.

Try Link Cloaking on Short.io

Get started for free

What did you learn?

  • shorten links for Dropbox
  • dropbox link cloaking
  • how to hide links
  • link cloaking
  • dropbox embed link

Read also:

Join the conversation

Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to Short.io Blog.
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
You've successfully subscribed to Short.io Blog.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.
Success! Your billing info has been updated.
Your billing was not updated.